

Wellington Golf Incorporated

MEN'S FREYBERG MASTERS, WOMEN'S TORO and MEN'S TORO TEAMS ANNOUNCED

Convener of Selectors John Spraggs and his selection panel have completed the schedule of teams to be named for 2017, in announcing these three National Interprovincial Teams to compete at Whiford Park on Nov $6^{th} - 10^{th}$ (Masters), Sherwood Park Whangarei on Dec $4^{th} - 8^{th}$ (Women) and Mangawhai Dec $5^{th} - 9^{th}$ (Men).

The Masters team is captained by Elton Nicholson and contains two other members from the side that were runner's up in 2016 – Malcolm Gullery and Mark Whalen, who will be joined by Mike Trass and Darin Hiroki, both with previous experience at this event.

The Women's team will be captained by Anita Harkerss, the team containing three players who were part of the victorious National Champion Girls team last week in Rotorua, with Alanah Braybrook and Pip Kirk completing the travelling group.

The Men's team will be captained by last year's successful National Champion skipper Jonno Cane, incumbents Dan Hillier, Kerry Mountcastle and Elton Nicholson being joined by Josef Edge and Jordan Loof.

Spraggs said, in addition to the Men's success last year, the teams are highly motivated by the Girls Interprovincial Championship triumph last week at Rotorua "Wellington Golf are keen to continue the good results of the last 12 months and indeed add to the proud history of success our province has achieved at this level"

The Freyberg Masters team, seeded No.2 for the tournament will ease into the week with single rounds on two of the first 3 days, then will play 72 holes over the last two days against all the top seeded teams including defending champions Auckland on their home track.

The Women's Toro team, beaten semi-finalists in 2016, have a different look this time round with U19 players Darae Chung, Erika Cui and Shontalia William featuring at the top of the order in Representaive outings so far this year, and the team being without highly ranked and successful players Gabrielle Palaldo and Te Rongopai Clay for this campaign.

The Men's Toro team will again be one of the teams to beat at Mangawhai. In form players Dan Hillier and Kerry Mountcastle will contest the Asia Pacific Amateur before focus turns to the 1st week in Decmber.

The addition of newcomers Jordan Loof, who was just outside the APAC team of 10, at ranking 13th nationally and Josef Edge who lead his club side Shandon to success this year, will see a strong group rightly looking to emulate the 2016 side's success.



The teams are (not in playing order)

<u>Men</u> Jonno Cane (Captain) Daniel Hillier Elton Nicholson Kerry Mountcastle Jordan Loof Josef Edge	Manor Park Manor Park Boulcott's Farm Masterton Royal Wellington Shandon
Nigel Hillier	Manager
<u>Women</u> Anita Harkerss (Captain) Alanah Braybrook Darae Chung Erika Cui Pip Kirk Shontalia William Sue Shin	Shandon Boulcott's Farm Shandon Boulcott's Farm Martinborough Boulcott's Farm Manager
Masters Men	
Elton Nicholson (Captain) Darin Hiroki Malcolm Gullery Mark Whalen	Boulcott's Farm Mornington Boulcott's Farm Boulcott's Farm

Steve Weir

Mike Trass

Manager

Royal Wellington

Follow the 3 team's progress at <u>www.golf.co.nz</u>

20.10.2017