
 

 

 

 

 

NEWSLETTER OF THE WELLINGTON GOLF REFEREES ASSOCIATION INC. 

 

Rules Courses 
The WGRA ran two Rules courses this year. The 
Level 1 in August was run on one day rather 
than the ‘one night per week over four weeks’ 
format, and likewise, the Level 2 in September 
was shortened to one day of presentations and 
one morning of practicals and the exam. We 
were very pleased with the outcome. All 
attendees who sat the tests passed, and a few 
obtained exceptional results in the Level 2. 
 
Future courses: We are planning to run the next 
Level 1 Rules course at Boulcott’s Farm HGC on 
Sunday 18 April, and the next Level 2 at the 
same venue on Sunday 13 and 20 June 21. 
 

Rules Clarifications 

As you may know, the R&A and USGA issue 
Rules Clarifications quarterly. There are no new 
clarifications in the 1 October 20 update.  
 

Common Rules Breaches 
Some of our 

referees have 

noted 

common 

breaches of 

the Rules, 

either through ignorance or belief in common 

Rules myths. It behoves us to gently let folk 

know when they are breaking the Rules, 

especially in stroke play when we need a level 

playing field for a fair outcome. Some common 

failings are: 
 

Failure to Mark a Ball before Touching It. We 

commonly see players touch or rotate their balls 

for identification without first marking its 

position (Rules 7.3, 9.4 and 14.1).  The ball must 

always be marked unless it is to be dropped or 

replaced in a different position. (Even the best 

can be caught out: see the second story on Jon 

Rahm below). Preferred Lies: where preferred 

lies have been authorised by a local rule, 

technically the ball does not have to be marked 

before it is lifted BUT IT IS GOOD PRACTICE TO 

DO SO. If you always mark your ball before 

lifting it, you are less likely to incur a penalty. 

Ignorance of Yellow versus Red Penalty Area 

Procedures. Even seasoned interclub players get 

this wrong, using the two club-length lateral 

relief option (Red PA) on a Yellow PA. 

Misunderstanding the Nearest Point of 

Complete Relief. The actual NPOCR may be in 

the rough or even in a tree, which means it may 

be preferable to not take relief, yet it is not 

uncommon for players to drop in a position that 

gives a clear shot but which is clearly not the 

NPOCR. 

Playing from in Front of the Tee Box or from 

Wrong Tee. This incurs a two-stroke penalty in 

stroke play (and the error must be corrected), 

but there is no penalty in match play, though the 

opponent may require the player to re-tee. 

Stroke and Distance. This is a rule that probably 

should be better known: you don’t always have 

to play the ball as it lies! Rule 18.1 allows you to 
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take stroke and distance relief at any time. So, if 

your putt rolls off the green into an awkward lie 

or you thin your shot into the face of a bunker, 

you may simply replay the shot for a one-stroke 

penalty.  

Unusual Local Rule at Te Marua 

 
1st Tee Te Marua 

Te Marua has adopted a local rule that allows a 

drop zone on the red tee (far side of the river) to 

be used for a ball lost in the penalty area (the 

river). A provisional ball may be played from the 

DZ for a ball that may be in the penalty area or 

lost outside of it. What, I hear you say? The rules 

don’t allow for a provisional ball if the original is 

lost in a penalty area! Ah, but Model Local Rule 

B-3 does exactly that in circumstances where it 

may not be clear whether the ball is in the PA 

and it would unreasonably delay play if the 

player had to go forward to check. For that 

reason, the Club has had this Rule, or something 

similar for some time. 

Rules Incidents 

Bryson’s Drops. The big-hitting Bryson 

DeChambeau features in a couple of our 

incidents. Firstly, he copped criticism from a 

number of pundits for the location of his drops 

during the Memorial Tournament back in July 

this year. On the 15th hole Bryson put his tee ball 

into a penalty area on the left, then put his next 

shot OOB on the right. He redropped and again 

put his shot OOB.  

The complaints arose when viewers noticed that 

his second drop was clearly in a different 

position to his first. Rules Officials reassured the 

public that no foul had been committed: under 

the 2019 Rules (R14.6), players can drop their 

ball anywhere within a one club-length radius 

from the reference point, the spot from where 

the previous shot was played. 

 

Bryson’s Driver Replacement. On the 7th hole 

during 

the 

first 

round 

of the 

PGA 

Championship in August, Bryson’s power was 

too much for his driver, and he managed to snap 

the head clean off. To my initial surprise, the 

officials allowed him to replace the driver with a 

spare from his car. Rule 4.1 is clear: a 

conforming club damaged during a round 

cannot be replaced unless the player did not 

cause the damage, so what was going on? In 

April 2019 a clarification was issued that added 

Model Local Rule G-9, which allows for the 

replacement of a broken club if the damage was 

not caused by abuse. The PGA had adopted that 

local rule for its championship.  

 

Bryson Again: Lost Ball at the Masters. Bryson 

again required rules assistance at the US 

Masters earlier this month. At the Par 4 3rd hole 

in the second round, Bryson pulled his ball left 

into the secondary rough. Despite a sizable 

search party, the ball could not be found within 

the allowed three minutes. Bryson did ask 

whether he could drop on the basis that his ball 

Bryson drops at the Memorial Jul 20 



could be considered lost in an Abnormal Course 

Condition, but while the ground was soft, it was 

not considered 

GUR, and nor was 

there knowledge 

or virtual certainty 

that the ball was 

located in the area  

of the search. So, it was back to the tee. 

Unfortunately, he finished the hole with a triple 

bogey and slid down the leader board. 

Jon Rahm Ball Moved. Another big hitter, Jon 

Rahm had an interesting ruling at the Memorial 

too. During the 

final round, Rahm 

flew the par 3 16th 

hole finishing in 

the rough behind 

the green. From 

there he chipped 

in for an apparent birdie, but TV footage showed 

that while setting up for his shot, he had clearly 

caused his ball to move.  

 

He was unaware since he was looking at the 

green at the time. While it was technology that 

picked up the movement, Rahm would certainly 

have seen It if he’d been watching the ball. He 

was therefore awarded a two-stroke penalty, 

which he accepted with good grace. It didn’t 

take the shine off his victory, which was by three 

strokes rather than five.  

 

Rahm Brain Fade: Picked Up Ball without 

Marking. 

During the third round of the BMW 

Championship at Olympia Fields in August, on 

the 5th hole, 

Rahm 

committed an 

amateur 

mistake, picking 

up his ball on the green without marking it. He 

still shot a 66 with the one-stroke penalty, which 

kept him in contention. He later expressed the 

fervent wish that he wouldn’t lose the 

tournament by one stroke! As it happened, he 

won the playoff with Dustin Johnston after each 

had sunk amazing putts. 

 

Lexi Thompson: Improving Lie? 

 

Lexi Thompson was perhaps lucky to escape 

without penalty during 

the AIG Women’s Open 

second round at Troon in 

August. She certainly 

appeared to be moving a 

tuft of grass behind her 

ball and therefore 

improving her lie, but 

following discussion and 

viewing the video of the 

incident the R&A ruled that there was no 

improvement since the grass returned to its 

original position. 

 

Using the Rules: Collin Morikawa 

 Collin Morikawa’s knowledge of the Rules and 

persistence paid off at the Tour Championship at 

East Lake in September. His ball came to rest in 

front of the 8th green in soft conditions. He 

eventually persuaded the Rules official that the 

ball was slightly embedded, and he was 

therefore entitled to a drop. On the sloping 

ground he was able to place the ball after his 

second drop and had a much nicer lie from 

which to chip. He sank his par putt.

 
Morikawa convincing the Official at East Lake 

 

Rahm before penalty 

Bryson back to the tee at Augusta 



Rory’s Integrity 

Rory McIlroy earned praise for his response to a 

reporter stepping on his ball at the PGA 

Championship in August. Under Rule 9.6 Rory 

was able to replace his ball, but he considered 

the new lie too good and insisted that the ball 

be pushed further down into the rough. He 

bogeyed the hole but was roundly praised for 

upholding the core values of the game. Well 

done Rory! 

 

 

The Original Rules of Golf 1744 

The original Rules are a fascinating read: aspects 

of the Rules haven’t changed all that much: 

“1.You must tee your ball within one club’s length of 

the hole. 

2.Your tee must be on the ground. 

3.You are not to change the ball you strike off the 

tee. 

4.You are not to remove Stoned, Bones or any Break 

Club, for the sake of playing your ball, except upon 

the Fair Green and that only within a club’s length 

of your ball. 

5.If your Ball come among watter or any wattery 

filth, you are at liberty to take out your Ball and, 

bringing it behind the hazard and teeing it, you may 

play it with any club and allow your Adversary a 

Stroke, for so getting your ball.  

6.If your balls be found anywhere touching one 

another you are to lift the first ball, till you play the 

last. 

7.At Holing, you are to play your Ball honestly for 

the Hole, and not play upon your Adversary’s Ball, 

not lying in your way to the Hole.  

8.If you should lose your Ball, by its being taken up, 

or any other way you are to go back to the Spot, 

where you struck last, and drop another Ball, and 

allow your adversary a stroke for the misfortune. 

9.No man at Holing his Ball is allowed, to mark his 

way to the hole with his club or anything else. 

10.If a Ball be stopp’d by any person, Horse, Dog or 

anything else, the Ball so stopp’d must be played 

where it lyes. 

11.If you draw your Club, in order to Strike and 

proceed so far in the Stroke, as to be bringing down 

your Club: If then your Club shall break, in any way, 

it is to be Accounted a Stroke. 

12.He whose Ball lyes farthest from the Hole is 

obliged to play first.  

13.Neither Trench, Ditch or Dyke, made for the 

presentation of the Links, nor the Scholar’s Holes or 

the Soldier’s Lines, shall bee counted a Hazard. But 

the ball is to be taken out and tee’d and lay’d with 

any iron club.” 

 

 

Golf is Hard! Tiger at the 

Masters 

Sometimes the pro’s give us reason to hope or 

at least feel better about our own game. Tiger 

achieved that when he racked up a 10 at the Par 

3 12th hole at Augusta earlier this month.  

Thank you, Tiger! 

 

Tiger's adventures on 12 
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Rules Questions or Incidents 

If you have any questions on anything to do with 

the Rules of Golf, any observations or 

comments, or rules incidents to share, please do 

send them to Terry Gardiner at 

gardfam77@gmail.com  
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