
 

 

 

 

 

NEWSLETTER OF THE WELLINGTON GOLF REFEREES ASSOCIATION INC. 

 

Rules Courses 

The Rules training season is underway once 
again with a Level 1 course run at Boulcott’s 
Farm HGC in April, which all attendees passed, 
and a Level 2 course coming up in June. We are 
pondering running another Level 1 course later 
in the year: if you have the opportunity, please 
encourage your fellow golfers to get in touch 
with any of our committee members (contact 
details below) if they might be interested in 
attending a Rules course. 

 
Rules Clarifications 7 Apr 21 
Update 

As you may know, the R&A and USGA issue 
Rules Clarifications quarterly. There are two new 
clarifications in the 7 April 21 update. The first 
allows National bodies to determine which 
handicap is shown on a scorecard. The second, 
more interesting one, is that National bodies 
may adopt a policy that exempt a player from 
penalty if the Committee puts an incorrect 
handicap on the card. Under the Rules 
(R3.3b(2)), the player is responsible for ensuring 
the handicap is correct. 
 

New Wellington Rules (WGRA) 
Facebook Page 
WGRA Committee member Cliff Martin has 

recently established a new Facebook page for 

the WGRA. It’s a private group but easy to find. 

Simply apply for access. It’s for the sharing of 

Rules issues, questions and advice, and already 

has a few interesting posts.  

Common Rules Confusions 

Ball in a Tree 

How to proceed for a ball stuck or lost in a tree 
was a question that arose a couple of times in 
Interclub over the summer and was also raised 

separately with 
the WGRA by 
two Wellington 
clubs.  
Firstly, it cannot 
be assumed 
that a ball seen 
entering a tree 
in the General 
Area is lost in 

the tree. Interpretation 7.2/1 requires that a ball 
in a tree is positively identified in order to use 
relief options other than replaying under stroke 
and distance. (Rule 19 Unplayable Ball also 
states that in order to use back-on-the-line or 
lateral relief, the spot of the original ball must 
be known). 
Once found in the tree, if the player moves the 
ball, it must be replaced under 
Rule/Interpretation 9.4 unless the player was 
not intending to play it as it lies and was 
intending only identify it or to retrieve it and 
take relief. Ideally, a player should make his 
intentions clear before shaking the tree or 
climbing it to identify or retrieve a ball. 
 

Status of Loose Divots 

Rule 8, Conditions Affecting the Stroke, is well 
known to golfers – or it should be. It is clear that 
divots may not be replaced in the divot hole and 
that replaced divots cannot be pressed down or 
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removed if doing so would improve the player’s 
CATS. But unreplaced loose divots are loose 
impediments that may be removed to the extent 
allowed by Rule 15.1 (which states, in essence, 
that loose impediments cannot be moved from 
where a ball is to be replaced, and that moving 
the ball in removing a loose impediment incurs a 
one stroke penalty).  

 
Clean and Place 

A common rules breach occurs when preferred 
lies (‘lift, clean and place’) are allowed, and that 

is when 
players place 
the ball 
several times 
to get the 
best possible 

new lie before letting the ball go and removing 
their marker.  
The assumption seems to be that as long as the 
marker is still in place, the ball is not in play. 
Such an interpretation is incorrect: the ball may 
be placed ONCE. Touching the ball again incurs a 
penalty irrespective of whether a marker is still 
in place, unless proceeding under another Rule 
eg, if the ball does not stay on the selected spot 
(Rule 14.2e). 
 

Too Many Golf Clubs? 

One of our referees has noticed that it is 

becoming all too 

common for 

players to carry 

more than the 

allowed 14 clubs 

in their bag. Note 

that under Rule 

4.1b, carrying 

more than 14 clubs is penalizable. 

 

Rules Incidents 

Injury Recovery Time 
At a recent interclub tournament one of the 
ladies passed her hand through her hair while 
waiting on the first tee only to be stung by a 
bee. The injury on her left hand was painful and 
immediately began to swell. Her foursome 
opponents and team managers were 

accommodating and agreed to the group 
delaying their start to allow time for recovery. 
After some time, the referee (yours truly) was 

summoned 
and asked 
how long 
could they 
give the 
injured 

player to recover? 
Interpretation 5.6a/2 states that the Committee 

should normally allow 15 minutes for recovery 

from a sudden injury. In this case, the player 

recovered sufficiently in time to carry on. 

Referee Ruling Over-ruled: 
Russell Knox at Pebble Beach 

While addressing his ball on the first hole at the 
ATT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am back in February, 
Russell Knox’s ball moved. The referee absolved 
him of blame on the basis of Knox’s account, but 
officials reversed the decision a few holes later. 
He was assessed a one stroke penalty for 
moving the ball but not two strokes for playing 
from a wrong place, presumably because he 
acted in accordance with a referee’s decision. 

 
Late on the Tee? Nick Voke at 
the Korn Ferry Tour & Jimmy 
Walker at the Valspar 

In an unusual incident, Kiwi Nick Voke, playing 
on the Korn Ferry Tour in the US, was very 
nearly DQ’d for missing his tee time. He and his 
caddie became stuck in their hotel lift for 45 
minutes when it jammed between floors. 
Although they were able to contact the 
Tournament officials, it was still made clear that 
Voke had to meet his tee time or suffer a 
penalty. As it happened, rescue came in time for 

the pair to 
get to the 
course and 
have an 
abbreviated 
warm-up 
before 

making the 
cut. 

Nick Voke 



Former PGA Champion Jimmy Walker was less 
fortunate: he simply overlooked his tee time at 
the Valspar Championship in late April while 
warming up but arrived in time to incur a two 
stroke penalty: he too made the cut – on the 
number. 

Lee Westwood’s Drop at the 
Player’s Championship 

Lee Westwood’s penalty drop on the par 5 
second hole during the final round of the 
Player’s Championship attracted the attention of 
several on-line armchair experts supposedly for 
being way out of position.  
Westwood’s tee shot found the right rough and 
his second disappeared from his sight in the 
direction of a penalty area on the right. The ball 
went into the water. 
Westwood decided to take back on the line 
relief from the estimated point where his ball 
crossed the penalty area boundary.  

 

Westwood's drop (red spot) 

The pundits watching on TV thought his drop in 

the fairway was well left of where he was 

entitled to drop. But officials confirmed that 

Westwood had followed the correct procedure 

and reminded the critics that the relief area 

extends a club-length laterally from the 

reference point, something that Westwood may 

have consciously taken advantage of. 

Golf is Hard: 
John Daly’s 
18 at Bay 
Hill 1998: 
his attempt 
at a Bryson 

You may have 
seen Bryson De 

Chambeau’s massive blast to carry the water on 

the Par 5 sixth hole at Bay Hill back in March 
leaving a short wedge to the green, before going 
on to win the tournament. 
 

You may not be 
aware that 
John Daly tried 
the same thing 
back in 1998, 
with less 
success. Daly, 
hitting a three 
wood, put five 
consecutive 

shots in the 
water 

(remember Tin Cup?) He eventually made it over 
and recorded an 18 on his score card. 

 
Curiosity Corner: Ball Sizes 
Did you know there is no maximum size for golf 

balls? 

Here 

are the 

old 

British 

ball 

(4cm), a Titleist (4.267cm, the modern 

minimum) and a Callaway Max, which lives up to 

its name at 4.38cm, so large it wouldn’t fit in the 

trundler ball receptacle of one of our members! 

WGRA News 

New Tournament Referees 

The WGRA welcomed four tournament referees 
this year after 
they 
successfully 
completed the 
Level 2 course 
and spent the 
requisite time 
as ‘buddies’. 
They are Mark 
Casey from 
Ohariu, Wendy 
Rhodes, Mark Casey and President Bill 

Stratford 

Daly's Adventures 

 



Judgeford, and Steve Smith and Jan Ward from 
Waikanae. Welcome team! 
 

 

Jan Ward with her 
Tournament Referee 
Certificate. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
And Steve Smith 
with his. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

New WGRA Referees Uniform 

 
Thanks to work by members of the WGRA 

Committee, new 
uniform items 
including a smart 
winter jacket and 
cap/hat options, have 
been provided for 
WGRA referees. They 
are emblazoned with 
the Wellington Golf 
badge and the word 
‘Rules’.  

 

Rules Questions or Incidents 

If you have any questions on anything to do with 

the Rules of Golf, any observations or 

comments, or rules incidents to share, please do 

send them to Terry Gardiner at 

gardfam77@gmail.com  

WGRA Executive 2020 
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